Title IX fiftieth anniversary celebration & discussion board

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (WWLP) – Visit the Springfield Symphony Hall on June 21 at 7 p.m. for a free occasion celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Federal Title IX laws.

Title IX states “No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.” 

An All-Star, Hall of Fame panel dialogue of the ladies’s recreation previous to the passing of Title IX, the advocacy and creation of Title IX laws on the time, and the method of its implementation, that includes the next: 

  • Jody Conradt. 1998 Hall of Fame Inductee, former Women’s Coach on the University of Texas with over 900 collegiate wins, a 1986 NCAA Championship and 21 NCAA Tournament Appearances
  • Donna Lopiano. Chief Executive Officer of the Women’s Sports Foundation from 1992-2007 and in that position ensured collegiate compliance with Title IX laws
  • Sylvia Hatchell. 2013 Hall of Fame Inductee Sylvia Hatchell, former Women’s Coach on the University of North Carolina incomes a NCAA National Championship in 1994 and an Olympic Gold Medal in 1988
  • Nancy Lieberman. 1996 Hall of Fame Inductee Nancy Lieberman, 2X Collegiate National Championship participant, 3X College All American, distinguished professional profession spanning 28 years, and the primary girl to play on a Men’s Professional Basketball Team. One of basketball’s most adorned athletes of all time.

The second panel will focus on the impact of Title IX on girls’s athletics right now and the work to make sure fairness and equality into the long run, that includes: 

  • Cheryl Miller. 1995 Hall of Fame Inductee, 2X National Collegiate Champion, 4X Collegiate All American, 3X College Player of the Year and1984 Olympic Gold Medal Winner
  • Carol Stiff. One of ESPN’s most senior girls executives
  • Tara VanDerveer. 2011 Hall of Fame Inductee, present Women’s Coach at Stanford University with 3 NCAA National Championships, 5X NCAA Coach of the Year honors, and at the moment owns probably the most wins of any coach in Women’s Collegiate Basketball History
  • Morgan Tuck. UConn standout participant, 4 time NCAA National Champion, USA Basketball Gold Medalist and former WNBA Player for the Connecticut Sun and Seattle Storm

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.