Kenseth, McGriff and Shelmerdine be part of NASCAR Hall of Fame | Sports

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Drivers Matt Kenseth and Hershel McGriff and crew chief Kirk Shelmerdine have been chosen to the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Mike Helton was named the Landmark Award winner for excellent contributions to the game Wednesday throughout a ceremony on the NASCAR Hall of Fame. They will formally be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Jan. 20.

Kenseth was a first-ballot choice, Shelmerdine was voted in on his third try to McGriff his seventh. Kenseth and Shelmerdine had been voted in on the fashionable day poll, whereas McGriff made it in on the pioneer poll.

The 50-year-old Kenseth drove 18 full seasons on the NASCAR circuit earlier than retiring in 2020 with 39 Cup victories and 20 poles. His 39 wins are tied for twenty first all-time.

Kenseth reached nearly each main milestone in NASCAR.

He gained the Daytona 500 twice, the Coca-Cola 600 and the All-Star race. He additionally captured the 2003 Cup Series championship capping a dominating season during which he led the factors standings for the ultimate 32 weeks of the season. He made the NASCAR playoffs in 13 of 14 seasons and completed runner-up twice.

Kenseth made an impression from the start, profitable Cup Series rookie of the 12 months in 2000. He additionally gained 29 Xfinity Series races, which ranks eighth-most all time.

The 94-year-old McGriff gained this primary race on the 1950 Southern 500, within the NASCAR Cup Series’ second season on the age of twenty-two. His remaining NASCAR race was at Tucson Speedway within the Pro Series West in 2018 — on the age of 90.

McGriff began 85 races in components of 28 NASCAR Cup Series seasons, capturing 4 wins – all of these coming in 1954

He was probably the greatest drivers in what’s now often known as the ARCA Menards Series West. Competing in components of 35 seasons, McGriff gained 37 races, good for third on the all-time West Series wins listing. His signature 12 months got here in 1986 when he gained the collection title, a part of a string of 10 consecutive seasons with finishes within the high 10 of championship factors.

McGriff beat out the 87-year-old A.J. Foyt, who made 128 Cup Series begins over 30 years, profitable seven races and ending within the high 10 36 instances.

The 64-year-old Shelmerdine labored as a crew chief from 1977-92 and gained 46 races with 15 poles and helped Dale Earnhardt captured 4 Cup Series championships (1986, ’87, ’90, ’91). Over his 16-year crew chief profession with Earnhardt, Ricky Rudd, James Hylton and Richard Childress, he gained 46 races and posted top-10 finishes in additional than half his begins.

Helton was the primary individual outdoors of the France household to be named NASCAR president.


More AP auto racing: and—Sports

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This materials will not be printed, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed with out permission.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.