Jon Stewart to obtain Mark Twain Prize for American humor

WASHINGTON (AP) — A number of celebrities and comedy royalty will collect Sunday night time on the Kennedy Center as comic, discuss present host and political influencer Jon Stewart receives the Mark Twain Prize for lifetime achievement in humor.

Stewart, the twenty third recipient of the prize, might be honored by testimonials and skits from fellow comedians and former Mark Twain recipients. Stewart himself spoke throughout Dave Chappelle’s Mark Twain ceremony in 2019.

The 59-year-old Stewart — born Jonathan Stuart Leibowitz — rose to prominence as a standup comedian and host of a number of failed discuss exhibits earlier than taking up Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show” in 1999. His 16-year run as “Daily Show” host turned him right into a cultural and political pressure as Stewart educated his satirical eye on each politics and an more and more polarized nationwide media.

In maybe his most iconic second, Stewart went on CNN’s in style “Crossfire” debate present in 2004 and challenged the present’s whole premise of left-wing vs. right-wing debate. Stewart advised co-hosts Tucker Carlson and Paul Begala that they had a “responsibility to the public discourse” that they have been cheapening with insincere political role-playing.

Stewart’s look rocketed him to new ranges of prominence and political relevance and should have sealed the destiny of “Crossfire,” which was canceled three months later.

Since retiring from “The Daily Show” in 2015, Stewart has develop into a vocal proponent of plenty of social causes and some of the outstanding voices in assist of well being look after Sept. 11 first responders in New York City. He lately returned to tv as host of “The Problem with Jon Stewart” on Apple TV+.

When Stewart’s choice was introduced in January, Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter hailed his physique of labor as “equal parts entertainment and truth.”

Rutter mentioned Stewart’s profession “demonstrates that we all can make a difference in this world through humor, humanity, and patriotism.”

This would be the first Mark Twain ceremony since Chappelle’s in 2019. The award skipped 2020 and 2021 as a result of COVID-19 pandemic. Aside from that two-year break, the prize has been introduced yearly since 1998, with Richard Pryor receiving the primary honors.

Other recipients embrace Carol Burnett (the oldest recipient at age 80), Tina Fey (the youngest at age 40), Eddie Murphy, Jonathan Winters, George Carlin and Lily Tomlin. 2009 recipient Bill Cosby had his prize rescinded in 2018 amid a number of allegations of sexual assault.


Conversations are opinions of our readers and are topic to the Code of Conduct. The Star doesn’t endorse these opinions.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.