Dimuth Karunaratne To Lead Sri Lanka For Bangladesh Test Tour

Opener Dimuth Karunaratne will as soon as once more captain the Sri Lanka workforce throughout their two-match Test sequence in opposition to Bangladesh later this month. Selectors named an 18-player squad for the essential red-ball sequence on Wednesday, with a bunch of key gamers lacking as Sri Lanka chase essential World Test Championship factors. SL batter Roshen Silva has opted out of the Bangladesh tour, with former skipper Angelo Mathews and right-hander Dhananjaya De Silva requested to assist Karunaratne on the high of the Sri Lanka order.

Karunaratne is at the moment ranked sixth on the MRF Tyres Men’s ICC Test Batting Rankings and he might be anticipated to offer loads of runs and expertise to a Sri Lanka aspect that’s coming into an important interval within the World Test Championship with a house sequence in opposition to Australia to observe the matches in Bangladesh.

With Suranga Lakmal retired, Lahiru Kumara on the outer and Dushmantha Chameera concentrating on white-ball cricket, Sri Lanka’s seam assault is more likely to be led by left-arm Vishwa Fernando.

The different seamers included within the squad are Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne and uncapped Dilshan Madushanka, with Mathews anticipated to offer loads of help.

Left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya will lead Sri Lanka’s spin assault, with Ramesh Mendis and Praveen Jayawickrama different choices that Karunaratne could have at his disposal.

The two-Test sequence commences in Chittagong on May 15, with the sequence then shifting to Dhaka for the second and closing Test on May 23.

Sri Lanka at the moment sits in fifth place on the World Test Championship standings, having received two Test matches and drawn one other two through the 2021-23 interval.


Bangladesh have received only one Test throughout that very same interval and are within the eighth place and at the moment solely sitting forward of England.

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama and Lasith Embuldeniya.

Topics talked about on this article

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.