Aviation security: 20 Russian airways added to EU Air Safety List – The European Sting – Essential Information & Insights on European Politics, Financial system, Foreign Affairs, Enterprise & Know-how

(Credit: Unsplash)

This article is delivered to you in affiliation with the European Commission.

The Commission has up to date the EU Air Safety List, which is the checklist of airways which might be topic to an working ban or operational restrictions throughout the European Union, as a result of they don’t meet worldwide security requirements. Following the replace, 21 airways licensed in Russia are actually included on the EU Air Safety List. This displays severe security issues on account of Russia’s pressured re-registration of foreign-owned plane, knowingly permitting their operation with out legitimate certificates of airworthiness. This is in breach of worldwide aviation security requirements.

Commissioner for Transport Adina Vălean stated: “The Russian Federal Air Transport Agency has allowed Russian airlines to operate hundreds of foreign-owned aircraft without a valid Certificate of Airworthiness. The Russian airlines concerned have knowingly done so in breach of relevant international safety standards. This is not only a clear breach of the Convention on International Civil Aviation (the Chicago Convention), but it also poses an immediate safety threat. We are living in the context of Russia’s unprovoked and unjustified military aggression against Ukraine. However, I want to make it crystal-clear that this decision is not another sanction against Russia; it has been taken solely on the basis of technical and safety grounds. We do not mix safety with politics.”

Following the replace, a complete of 117 airways are banned from EU skies:

  • 90 airways licensed in 15 totally different States[1], on account of insufficient security oversight by the aviation authorities from these States;
  • 21 airways licensed in Russia, in addition to 6 particular person airways from different States, primarily based on severe security deficiencies recognized: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).

Two further airways are topic to operational restrictions and may solely fly to the EU with particular plane sorts: Iran Air (Iran) and Air Koryo (North Korea).


The replace to the EU Air Safety List relies on the unanimous opinion of Member State aviation security consultants, who met on 5 April 2022 below the auspices of the EU Air Safety Committee, by way of videoconference. This committee is chaired by the Commission with the help from the European Union Aviation Safety Agency. The replace has the help of the European Parliament’s Transport Committee. Decisions below the EU Air Safety List are primarily based on worldwide security requirements, and notably these of the International Civil Aviation Organization.

For More Information

Questions & solutions on the EU Air Safety List

List of airways banned throughout the EU 

[1] Afghanistan, Angola (except for 2 airways), Armenia, Congo (Brazzaville), Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Nepal, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone and Sudan.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.